Linux-Noob Forums

Full Version: Atheros AR5bxb61 wont activate in fedora
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Hello I am new to Linux and I have been searching this for a week now. I have a new Toshiba Satellite with the Atheros AR5bxb61 mini pci-e card in it. in the network device control it shows ath0 but when i try to activate it it say's "device does not seem to be present delaying initialization." I am a noob to linux and desperately want to understand and power use linux to it's max, but i am starting to get frustrated cause BT3 live cd & USB both can use my wireless better than windows. can someone help me understand this please.

Thanks

have you looked into ndiswrapper at all ? most likely your card will need it

heres some info about it and a guide here

cheers

anyweb

this is what I get when I use yum for a lot of things not just NDISWRAPPER, any suggestions. I'm using Fedora

<a class="ipsAttachLink ipsAttachLink_image" href="<fileStore.core_Attachment>/monthly_03_2008/post-3714-1204654129.png" data-fileid="1048">[img]<fileStore.core_Attachment>/monthly_03_2008/post-3714-1204654129.png[/img]</a>

So obviously I feel like an idiot, how would I download and manually install anything for that matter from an ****.tar.gz ?

you must have internet access to do this, do you ?

if you do and you still get that message then try

Code:
yum install ndiswrapper

cheers

I figured it out!!!! [img]<___base_url___>/uploads/emoticons/default_laugh.png[/img] <_<d@#$ that really sucked, I had to google it in thirty different times in a million different context but I found it. I added the

# # sudo rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm

then

# # sudo rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna

to add the new repository and lastly I used

# # sudo yum -y install ndiswrapper