Linux-Noob Forums

Full Version: libc header files
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Hi I am new to linux and I'm stuck trying to update my driver. [img]<___base_url___>/uploads/emoticons/default_dry.png[/img]

I am trying to install NVIDIA-Linux-x86-185.18.14.pkg1.run and I'm getting an error: "You do not appear to have libc header files installed."

How do I go about installing the libc header files?

thank you for the help

Ron

I should have put some specs:

Fedora 9

AMD Athlon

I think you'll want to install glibc-devel:

Code:
yum install glibc-devel

(as root). You're likely to have a bunch of other things to do as well, and if you want the Nvidia driver I'd recommend going about it by using pre-built packages.

There appears to be a useful tutorial at http://news.softpedia.com/news/Install-N...6757.shtml which shows you how to install the Nvidia driver using the third-party Livna software repository. (You can obviously ignore Step 3 if you don't actually want AWN, the program they are talking about there).

Quote:I think you'll want to install glibc-devel:

Code:
yum install glibc-devel

<div>

(as root). You're likely to have a bunch of other things to do as well, and if you want the Nvidia driver I'd recommend going about it by using pre-built packages.

There appears to be a useful tutorial at http://news.softpedia.com/news/Install-N...6757.shtml which shows you how to install the Nvidia driver using the third-party Livna software repository. (You can obviously ignore Step 3 if you don't actually want AWN, the program they are talking about there).

</div>

Thanks Hybrid.

Alright it seems to have downloaded. My CPU1 is at 100% [img]<___base_url___>/uploads/emoticons/default_ohmy.png[/img]

my system came with NVIDIA GeForce Go 8200M and this site says the driver supports 8400 and 8400GS. Will it still work? thanks again for your help with above.