Jump to content


We use cookies to log you in, for ads and for analytics. OK

Photo

Wireless card not detected / installed


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 June 2010 - 11:41 AM

I just finished installing ubuntu 10.04 with windows in dual boot after lots of reading, but my Wireless card is not detected or working, I cant connect to internet without my wireless card, how do i install one, my wireless card is intel wireless 3945abg. i searched net but no luck...plz help

#2 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 10 June 2010 - 10:15 AM

Can you run various commands to look at hardware, such as "lshal", "lsdev", "lspci", "dmesg" - see if the hardware is seen there first?

Also - what (commands/actions/tools) have you tried so far?

#3 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:03 PM

I ran commands given by you, i came to an impression that my card is detected (after an update) but i am still not able to see any wireless connections. i manually entered all the details but still it does not connected to wifi. dump of all the commands is attached as open office file. plz help and thank you so much.

Attached Files



#4 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:27 PM

okay, it looks like it's detected (iwconfig shows that) but not picking up an IP address.

As you're using Ubuntu, try System=> Administration=> Hardware Drivers or System=> Administration=> Network Tools to view configuration information. It could simply be not set to DHCP.

#5 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:48 PM

It is set to DHCP, I checked, here is the screenshots

Attached Files



#6 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 09:48 PM

okay. All I can suggest at this point is to try and add a static IP to see if it can communicate with your DHCP server. If so, then networking is okay but it's the DHCP lease that's at fault.

By the way, do you have DHCP reservation pools? It isn't something like the MAC address not being recognised therefore being refused a DHCP allocation, is it?

Also, do you use any kind of encryption on your WLAN?

#7 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 05:06 AM

DHCP is fine. I use adsl modem + router for internet. MY pool nos are ok it is set to 20+ whereas max no of device which connects are 3 including my cell, i can access the wifi using windows in the same computer. So DHCP is working fine. for encryption i used wpa, but i have already tried by disabling the security all together. it still did not work, so after that I enabled WEP 128bit, (it works fine on my mobile and windows) and it still did not work in ubuntu....cant figure out what am i missing....

#8 hybrid

hybrid

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 07:31 AM

I don't have an enormous amount of experience with configuring wireless networking under Linux, but I have had issues before where the card works and appears to connect, but for some unknown reason, it is just DHCP that doesn't work. So I would definitely try configuring this connection with a static IP address and see if that works.
My website | Portfolio

FOSSwire -- all about free and open source software, featuring tips, tricks, tutorials, reviews, articles and all the latest news from the free software universe.

#9 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:16 AM

DHCP is fine.
.. So DHCP is working fine...

You mean your DHCP *server* is working fine. I'm trying to establish if it is your DHCP client under Ubuntu, or the card itself at fault.

If you bind a static IP to the card and get connectivity, then it could be the client-side bit isn't working ("dhclient" under Ubuntu).

Try the following: "dhclient -r" to release, then "dhclient" to request another IP (do both using sudo).

Also check the /etc/dhcp3/ or /var/lib/dhcp3 directories for any other information.

#10 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 03:55 PM

thankx for quick reply, i tried to do static ip via manual in network manager but the apply button is disabled. secondly i connected my computer to modem via wire then it got the ip automatically via dhcp. how can i make that button enabled.
Plus in my case network manager does not even display available SSID, whereas it appears fine on windows and cell phones.

Attached Files



#11 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 04:40 PM

One more thing if it helps to help... i ran iwlist scanning and i got this output which shows network is detected.
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:04:ED:94:D2:20
Channel:1
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=48/70 Signal level=-62 dBm
Encryption key:on
ESSID:"vikhome"
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s
Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s
36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Mode:Master
Extra:tsf=00000000e18d7aec
Extra: Last beacon: 1636ms ago
IE: Unknown: 000776696B686F6D65
IE: Unknown: 010482848B96
IE: Unknown: 030101
IE: Unknown: 2A0104
IE: Unknown: 32080C1218243048606C

pan0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth1 Interface doesn't support scanning.

#12 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 22 June 2010 - 08:45 PM

okay. Firstly, in your above screen dump, my button is greyed out until all information is entered - you may need to add a "." into your search domains to enable it.

Secondly, iwlist shows: ESSID:"vikhome" so it's clear there's an SSID detected. I'm wondering how that network can be selected graphically.

#13 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 23 June 2010 - 06:01 AM

i reinstalled ubuntu and it worked fine but when i restarted my pc the same problem presists. the network manager icon is even not shown in panel above. reaaly confused

#14 vikash

vikash

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 23 June 2010 - 08:32 AM

one more recent discovery
i used an external wifi adapter (borrowed frm my friend) and now everything works fine. so is the driver at fault here for my internal card (intel 3945abg). dhcp also supported

Attached Files



#15 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 24 June 2010 - 08:52 AM

okay.. good to hear you got it all working finally, but annoyed to hear it was an unsupported hardware issue.

Hmm.. interesting: from https://wiki.ubuntu....idReleaseNotes:

"On laptops with Intel 3945 or Intel 4965 wireless chipsets and a killswitch for the wireless antenna, starting the system with the killswitch enabled (i.e., with wireless disabled) will prevent re-enabling the wireless by toggling the killswitch. As a workaround, users should boot the system with the killswitch disabled. For more information see bug 193970. A future kernel update is expected to address this issue. "
Seems it's a known issue in earlier Ubuntu.. but still not fixed...?

#16 Gabriel03

Gabriel03

    Noob

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 January 2012 - 08:30 AM

I'm a real novice but I just installed Ubuntu 11.04 alongside Windows Vista on my ancient laptop which had slowed down to a screeching halt. Of course, Ubuntu is very simple and quick so it solved all my problems except one important one:

No wireless connection!

I click on the icon to try to view potential networks to connect to but it's not even an option. Just wired networks only. The Broadcom STA Wireless driver was automatically installed upon installation but apparently it's not cutting it. I've reinstalled several times and tried installing other drivers listed on these forums but I think my ignorance of Ubuntu and all things related to CLI holds me back from fixing it correctly.

Btw, Windows Vista still connects to my wireless network just fine as it always did.

#17 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 12 January 2012 - 11:23 AM

Btw, Windows Vista still connects to my wireless network just fine as it always did.

That shows that it's not a hardware problem, so good on that front.
I'd advise interrogating the hardware on Vista to gather as much information about the card as you can - mainly things like vendor IDs, strange model numbers, driver names, etc.
Then bang those numbers into google with "ubuntu" and you may find a module (driver) that's listed.

FWIW: I've had a similar issue many years ago, couldn't get a certain 3Com (3C900) card working under RedHat - RH detected the card, but auto-selected the wrong driver (3c5x9). I researched the problem and someone suggested trying the "vortex" driver: 3c59x. I forced selection to that one and... it worked perfectly. Again, this was only possible by getting as much HW info as I could.

When you're next in ubuntu, try the "dmesg" command and see what info comes up about your network card. I know there was an issue one time where networking would start before PCMCIA slot initialisation, meaning that ubuntu didn't see the inactive card. Not certain that issue is still present, but "dmesg" highlighted that issue for me.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users