Linux-Noob Forums
USE flags problem - Printable Version

+- Linux-Noob Forums (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Linux Noob (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: How Do I? (https://www.linux-noob.com/forums/forum-60.html)
+--- Thread: USE flags problem (/thread-933.html)

USE flags problem - Danotto9797 - 2008-06-02

Hi all,

I'm brand new to gentoo linux, and I'm now experiencing problems with USE flags. /etc/make.defaults has no USE flags. /usr/portage/profiles/base/make.defaults has stuff, but i added the USE flags myself (I forgot that they tell you in the handbook not to touch anything there, but I don't know what which make.defaults they're talking about); thing is, in the handbook they say something like to go to the make.defaults part of your profile, and there are two make.defaults locations I just put. I don't understand the (problem) profile thing (did I miss a section of the handbook?). Is it a symlink problem? In the handbook, they say that the profile your system listens to is pointed by the /etc/make.profile symlink, but there's nothing in there that has a path or anything relating to another directory. Also, all there is in /etc/make.conf is CHOST and CXX or something (plus the add and remove USE flags I put in). I'm just plain confused. I don't know what I'm doing wrong here, I'm a total noob. Thanks.

USE flags problem - znx - 2008-06-03

Hi!

Gentoo can be a little bit troublesome to figure out when you start out with it (I remember those days..). Lets run through the files:

Portage has a default configuration file which is /etc/make.globals. This file should never be edited but it can be a good reference for settings in portage.