Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Different document root within apache

Hi all, I'm a linux/apache noob, so i figure this is the best place for me :)

Anyhow, I just got a dedicated server with godaddy, using their "Simple Control Panel". It's running CentOS with apache 2, php4, mysql4.

My question is this: I want to be able to set my own document root. I add a domain name through the simple control panel, and it forces docroot for that domain to be /home/<username>/public_html/. Then it forces me to create a username, one that does not already exist.

I have over 50 domain names I will be migrating to this server, and a lot of them are located in subdirectories of my main domain. So my main domain, smartstreets.net is located in, say, /home/smartstreets/public_html/, I want MyOtherDomain.com to go to /home/smartstreets/public_html/members/<unique_member_id>/

I've tried using virtual hosts, and it doesnt make any difference, after restarting apache. Here's what I put for my virtual host:

Code:
<VirtualHost *>
ServerAdmin admin@smartstreets.net
DocumentRoot /var/www/html
ServerName trashylife.org
ServerAlias www.trashylife.org trashylife.org
ErrorLog /var/log/error.log
CustomLog /var/log/access.log common
</VirtualHost>

Note that im trying to make trashylife.org go to /var/www/html just to get it to work, thats one of my domains i dont care about being down. So because of the simple control panel stuff, its forced to be in /home/trashylife/public_html/ which has an index.html file that says "not working". I want it to go to /var/www/html/ which has an html file that says "its working" (or something like that).

So uhh, what am i doing wrong? Is there some sort of permissions i have to set on either /home/trashylife, or on /var/www/html? (note, i've tried to point that domain to other directories in /home/smartstreets/ with no luck.