Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can't connect wireless broadband in Fedora 9

I'm a noob to Fedora, and I'm having a problem connecting to wireless networks. The laptop is a toshiba sattelite and the wireless card is an intel PRO/wireless card. When I click the network connections icon, and go to 'Create New Wireless Network', I give it the correct SSID and WPA password. It then tries to connect, fails, and responds with 'secrets required by wireless network - Passwords or encryption keys are required to access the wireless network: "(name I put in)"'. It has also replaced the 10-digit passcode I've put in, and replaced it with a huge one.

Anyone have any advice on where to go from here?

is the wireless card definetly showing up correctly in system-config-network ?

have a read of the following topic (for fedora core 5 so may not be applicable)

have you tried connecting to your wireless router with different settings ?

The network card shows up in the 'network configuration' panel, under the 'Hardware' tab, but not under the 'Devices' tab. I'll reread that topic, but it'll be a while before I can make heads or tails of it. I should probably add that I don't know wether this problem is related to the wireless card, or the router/ISP/something else. The ISP has never seemed to like linux, however it did work on and off in ubuntu.

i think your wireless card needs the firmware loaded, so please read through the link i pasted above

cheers

anyweb

Quote:i think your wireless card needs the firmware loaded, so please read through the link i pasted above 

cheers

anyweb