Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Damn it... GRUB Error

So I installed Ubuntu a while back and had a dual-boot thing going on. Bare in mind I am a newbie at linux and anything related to the actual mechanics of computers.

So everything is going fine, then yesterday I try and delete the Ubuntu partition and make it how it was before I installed it. So I do this and then when I reboot the computer, the error:

GRUB loading stage 1.5

GRUB loading, please wait...

error 17

I have heard it has to do with the MBR and stuff, but I don't know how to fix an of it...

Please note that I do not have a windows CD, and that the only way I can use my computer is by booting the Ubuntu live CD.

From the live cd I can tell that my windows partition is not gone since I can access the files so I guess I havent totally screwed things up.

I would really appreciate it if I could get very detailed directions, since I'm new to all of this.

Quote:So I installed Ubuntu a while back and had a dual-boot thing going on. Bare in mind I am a newbie at linux and anything related to the actual mechanics of computers. 

So everything is going fine, then yesterday I try and delete the Ubuntu partition and make it how it was before I installed it. So I do this and then when I reboot the computer, the error:

GRUB loading stage 1.5

error 17

I have heard it has to do with the MBR and stuff, but I don't know how to fix an of it...

Please note that I do not have a windows CD, and that the only way I can use my computer is by booting the Ubuntu live CD.

From the live cd I can tell that my windows partition is not gone since I can access the files so I guess I havent totally screwed things up.

I would really appreciate it if I could get very detailed directions, since I'm new to all of this.

Hi,