Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
COMPLETELY lost

Just a couple of days ago I put in a new hard drive and reinstalled Windows XP on my Dell notebook.. however it's complete crap, there are issues with drivers, and issues with the internet. Anyway, I just want to scrap everything and install Linux, but no matter how many of these posts I read, I still am so confused about a lot of things..

What exactly is KDE and Gnome, etc, and what are Ubuntu and Fedora in relation to them?

and does anybody have any suggestions for how I should go about getting Linux? or what "distro" I should install? I mostly use my computer for multimedia.

Lastly, after reinstalling XP, I was told that I needed all these drivers from Dell to make it function. Am I going to run into this problem with Linux?

I know I am not very good at this computer thing, and I appreciate any help that you guys can give me!

Hi there! I'll try and answer your questions in turn:

Quote:What exactly is KDE and Gnome, etc, and what are Ubuntu and Fedora in relation to them?

KDE and GNOME are 'desktop environments'. A desktop environment is the collection of graphical programs you use. For example, your file manager program is part of the desktop environment. KDE and GNOME are different choices of environment that are available (there are also more). I'd recommend GNOME if you're new (it's what is default with most anyway now) and KDE if you want loads of configurability.

Ubuntu and Fedora are distributions or distros. A distribution is everything - all the software you need to make up a working operating system. The desktop environments alone won't get you very far, as they're just the pretty graphics that sit on top of the OS. The distribution will include everything from the desktop environment all the way down to the geeky stuff that powers the OS.