Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
About to Start Ubuntu

I know Ubuntu is the simplest and easiest distro, and I have used the live cd and played with the full installed version that my grandfather installed on his PC, so I know I can operate it. But, I refuse to just use it, I am fine with it being for everyone but I want to learn how to use the terminal and really play with it. I admit, I am not an expert, but I am eager to learn how to use Linux effectively.

My first question is: I know Ubuntu is open-source, but where is it's source? I hear people speak about how you can code it and all that but what do they mean?

Quote:I know Ubuntu is the simplest and easiest distro, and I have used the live cd and played with the full installed version that my grandfather installed on his PC, so I know I can operate it. But, I refuse to just use it, I am fine with it being for everyone but I want to learn how to use the terminal and really play with it. I admit, I am not an expert, but I am eager to learn how to use Linux effectively.  

My first question is: I know Ubuntu is open-source, but where is it's source? I hear people speak about how you can code it and all that but what do they mean?

First of all, it's great to hear that you're interested in learning how to use Linux!

The source code is freely available for everyone to download, look at, play with, change and make their own versions of it (provided they allow everyone else to do the same as well). The main site for the source code is Ubuntu Archive.

However, if you're interested in building applications for Ubuntu, it might be worth starting by installing it, popping the developer tools on and having a play around with them and getting to know them first.