Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new tricks for old dogs?

Hi there,

I have been using windows for the last 12 years (Mechanical Engineering) and that

Hey man!

A fellow noob here. Here are some observations.

Save yourself the heartache and dual-boot Windows and Linux for a while. Preferably a long time. Why? Well, you might REALLY want to "just get X done" without having to spend an hour trying to figure out how to do it. I just started dual-booting about a year ago. Being able to just get something done in Windows and then going back to Linux can help preserve your patience.

Get used to the convention (and not the necessity) of typing things into the console. You will see a lot of sites that offer how-tos. You read with interest but you wonder "how am I going to remember to type ghlf kfhgelkew hrfejwklhgk rjkewhkth uovhfweuv jhfrjke every time I want to install something?" Well, the good news is, you don't always need to use the console for every single thing in the OS. So why does every site make it look like you do? It's easier on bandwidth for them to host a line of text than it is to host multiple screenshots of doing something in the GUI (whichever GUI you use).