Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Intel Pro 2200 Wireless / IBM R50e / Mandriva 2007 Free

Hello everybody in Forum Land. I am a NEWBIE to Linux. Have just installed 'Mandriva 2007 FREE' on my IBM R50e. I am VERY impressed and am asking myself why I have relied on Microsoft for so long. I think I will become a convertee!

Anyway, everything seems to work except my wireless connection. Its an INTEL PRO2200 adapter. The system recognises it but says maiising firmware.

I have downloaded the ipw2200-fw-3.0 folder from the intel site, it contains these 4 files...

ipw2200-bss.fw

ipw2200-ibsss.fw

ipw2200-sniffer.fw

LICENSE.ipw2200-fw

I believe these to be the firmware files which need to be installed somewhere?

So,

1 - are these the firmware files I need?

2 - how do I install them?

Please help, and accept my apologies if its obvious and I'm being stupid.

Many thanks

ALGOZ

you generally put them in /lib/modules

Quote:you generally put them in /lib/modules

Hello Hijinks...

Silly question, but do I have to open a console. My file manager says I don't have permission to drag and drop!

Am I being stupid?

Thanks

Algoz

Actually, I can't even do a mkdir using the terminal - again permissions don't allow me.

HELP HELP HELP

Thanks

Alan

Quote:Silly question, but do I have to open a console. My file manager says I don't have permission to drag and drop! 

Actually, I can't even do a mkdir using the terminal - again permissions don't allow me.

HELP HELP HELP

These directories will be owned by the "superuser" (a.k.a. root). You won't have permissions as a normal user to do this. Think like the administrator on a Windows machine, you don't have the ability to install as a user, only as admin.

What you will need to do, is open the file manager but as root, rather than as your user.

Under KDE (look for the K start button):