Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
usb pen drive installation

alright everyone im new to this site and fairly new to linux for that matter, so let me clarify a couple things right now. one, im a noob. two, my last name is Crunkleton, thus i have exclusive rights to the use of the word "crunk" in my username, or anywhere else for that matter, and refuse to be grouped with the cliche slang slinging teenage populous of america, so :P .

anyways....

ok guys, i have a 6 GB usb pen drive, linux compatible, and im trying to install a linux OS on here. I have FC4 which comes with the GRUB bootloader upon installation. my /dev/sda1 is about 5.6 GB and is the standard ext3 filesystem. /dev/sda2 is my swap. i installed FC4 and GRUB successfully and GRUB will boot off of my pen drive i just cant seem to get it pointed in the right direction to boot right.

what i am aiming to do here is to be able to boot off of usb on any computer that allows usb booting. can someone lend a hand to this poor unfortunate soul?

anyone know of a way i can install a bootloader to a usb and point it to a usb? i thought about trying lilo, but once again im a noob and thought id ask before i go screwin stuff up

have you installed fedora core linux 4 on the key or on a local hdd ?

you could try running 'grub-install' on the key itself, lilo is depreciated in fedora

cheers

anyweb

yes i installed grub on the pen drive, and i turned my legacy USB on with USB as my first boot selection. it will load grub, i just cant figure out how to get grub to load fc4 on the pen drive, it can never find the kernel

press 'e' on the grub screen it should let you edit the command line arguments

try and point it (grub) to the path of the kernel

good luck

i try but it always says it cant find the kernel.

here is my grub.conf on my pen drive:

#boot=/dev/sda

default=0

timeout=5

splashimage=(hd1,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

hiddenmenu

title Fedora Core-usb (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)

root (hd1,1)