Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A little Help choosing a stable distro

Hi, here's my first post :)

Altough i am a noob at linux, i've managed to install an use Ubuntu Edgy and Hardy Heron, there was a time i tried to install Gentoo but it was too much for me; right now i am using Unbutu 8.04 (Hardy) but i am one of the many that go unlucky and have a series of bugs that are related to that release, one of those issues are unstability on some apps and in general and since my personal pc is also my 'production' pc, i use it for work at the office or wherever i need to go to and also for fun, so is a dual purpose machine hehe. Due to many unstability issues i decide to try another distro that maybe would let me do my job smoothly and also would let me have some fun.

Let me explain a little what i do and be very specific and maybe that way you could point me into the best distro for me, of course i just don't expect you to know if some apps work or not, but maybe i find someone who use them and could give me some testimony hehe:

A ) As a BASIS consultant (SAP) my daily tasks are:

- Connect trough SAP GUI to SAP R/3 servers. I currently use SAP PlatinGUI for JAVA (SAP GUI for JAVA). Works well with ubuntu.

- Use SAP Download Manager. Works well with ubuntu.

- Connect via Remote Desktop to give support and supervise Windows 200x servers activity, during this RDP sessions i may need to open command prompt window to run some ORACLE (or any other DB) admin activities that run specifically under that environment and do not have windows gui admin software. Also during this sessions may run ORACLE, SQL or any other DB windows based admin. software. Works with some bugs, like command prompt windows do not scroll automatically, i need to scroll the last bit manually or i won't be able to see the line to write a sentence, this is very annoying