Jump to content


We use cookies to log you in, for ads and for analytics. OK

Photo

BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless netbook


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 09:52 PM

I decided to try and install fedora 16 xfce on my netbook and I got it installed. However it wasn't able to detect the wireless so I installed the driver. It's showing up when I run lspci but seems like it's not loaded cuz my network manager isn't detecting anything and when I run ifconfig I have no wlan0 showing up.

Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)

Sound is working now. Just need to get this wireless thing figured out.


[root@feedmebits-net ~]# modprobe brcm80211
FATAL: Module brcm80211 not found.
[root@feedmebits-net ~]# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

p5p1 no wireless extensions.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#2 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:07 PM

Sounds like you need the b43 or b43legacy modules:
http://linuxwireless...ers/Drivers/b43
http://www.vsritual....72-686ed8e3dc57

I know I had to compile a specific module then drop the .so file into /lib/modules for modprobe/depmod to pick it up, back in the FC5 days with machines that contained an onboard Broadcom LAN port. At the time it detected the hardware and listed it correctly (dmesg, hwconf and lspci all showed it) but it just couldn't match a suitable driver (module) to use.

I just followed someone's blog to download and manually compile the file, drop it in the right place, tweak modules.conf (precursor to modprobe.d/), rebooted... and it all worked.

Of course, as soon as we upgraded the machines to FC7, everything worked out of the box - card was detected and working natively. Annoying!

#3 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:07 PM

I got the driver from here:

http://pkgs.org/fedo...noarch.rpm.html
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#4 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:42 PM

[root@feedmebits-net hybrid_wl]# ls
hybrid-portsrc_x86_64-v5_100_82_112.tar.gz lib Makefile src
[root@feedmebits-net hybrid_wl]# make
KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
make: *** /lib/modules/3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64/build: No such file or directory. Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2
[root@feedmebits-net hybrid_wl]#

Thanks for that. I couldn't find the driver mentioned cuz broadcom seems to have removed it but I found a different one. But when I make it can't find a directory. The directories they came out of the tar file I mentioned above but there's no modules in there. hmmmmm
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#5 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:59 PM

Gonna continue playing with it tomorrow. Not quite getting how to yet but will take some time.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#6 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:28 PM

Usually you need to run "configure" before "make" - check the README file (if one exists)

#7 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:33 PM

Usually you need to run "configure" before "make" - check the README file (if one exists)


Good one Posted Image

I don't know what I did but I got it working. I think the following happened.
1. I installed gcc and devel-kernel
2. I rebooted
3. I installed this one: http://pkgs.org/fedo...noarch.rpm.html
4. I updated my system
5. rebooted.
6. Installed Development tools
7. Rebooted.
8. My wireless is now working.

Still need to work on some other stuff but the most importan things are working now. I didn't do anything else with broadcom wireless link. LOL. Now that's annoying. I got something working and I'm not exactly sure how but that's my logical guess.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#8 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 11:39 PM

And I made a huge partitioning mistake. LMAO. Instead 400 someting GB for my home drive I made it 400MB now it's full and there's now way to get that right. Will have to do this all over again. Cuz I really messed up my partitioning during installation. haha not really funny but oh well.

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs 11G 3.3G 7.1G 32% /
devtmpfs 1.8G 0 1.8G 0% /dev
tmpfs 1.8G 88K 1.8G 1% /dev/shm
tmpfs 1.8G 50M 1.7G 3% /run
/dev/mapper/luks-45661d4f-e4e0-4e71-bcd4-77f9adb7ca58 11G 3.3G 7.1G 32% /
tmpfs 1.8G 50M 1.7G 3% /run
tmpfs 1.8G 0 1.8G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 1.8G 0 1.8G 0% /media
/dev/sda1 194M 55M 130M 30% /boot
/dev/mapper/luks-cca41fa7-3f34-4333-8169-dd1eb6f2b1f4 483M 458M 22K 100% /home

#####

Wireless:

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:2F:68:2D:DF:11
inet addr:192.168.1.104 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::762f:68ff:fe2d:df11/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:408024 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:127461 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:559842084 (533.9 MiB) TX bytes:15766163 (15.0 MiB)

Posted Image
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#9 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 03:41 PM

Sounds like you need the b43 or b43legacy modules:
http://linuxwireless...ers/Drivers/b43
http://www.vsritual....72-686ed8e3dc57

I know I had to compile a specific module then drop the .so file into /lib/modules for modprobe/depmod to pick it up, back in the FC5 days with machines that contained an onboard Broadcom LAN port. At the time it detected the hardware and listed it correctly (dmesg, hwconf and lspci all showed it) but it just couldn't match a suitable driver (module) to use.

I just followed someone's blog to download and manually compile the file, drop it in the right place, tweak modules.conf (precursor to modprobe.d/), rebooted... and it all worked.

Of course, as soon as we upgraded the machines to FC7, everything worked out of the box - card was detected and working natively. Annoying!


Found a usefull post on the fedora forum about drivers and different ways to install them also mentioning yours. Going to reinstall my system this evening and make sure I partition everything right this time and try it this way for my wireless:

http://forums.fedora...ad.php?t=239922
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#10 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

If you're using LVM then you shouldn't need to repartition.

Also - you shouldn't need to reboot unless you're bringing a new kernel online.

#11 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:16 PM

If you're using LVM then you shouldn't need to repartition.

Also - you shouldn't need to reboot unless you're bringing a new kernel online.


Wasn't sure about that second thing, but now I know that too. I didn't setup lvm for my netbook since I'm not planning on adding any hard disks.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#12 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:10 PM

LVM just means you can dynamically move/expand slices about, but on a netbook - yup, it's kinda an overkill.

Modern distros tend to bung everything into one big (virtual) partition and use quotas to manage capacity/growth. I'd guess you'd do the same thing on your netbook.

#13 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:24 PM

I just reinstalled using lvm. Not such a bad idea, just incase.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#14 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 11 January 2012 - 10:50 PM

An update. I reinstalled using lvm. And I updated the system and rebooted and the wireless worked out of the box. No extra things needed to install :)
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"

#15 Dungeon-Dave

Dungeon-Dave

    Linux-Noob Frequent Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts

Posted 12 January 2012 - 12:37 AM

neato - seems an update fixed it, then. Odd that the update didn't sort the wireless before...

#16 feedmebits

feedmebits

    Linux-Noob Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts

Posted 12 January 2012 - 11:53 AM

neato - seems an update fixed it, then. Odd that the update didn't sort the wireless before...


I think the driver which I used from the website didn't do anything. Cuz first time I installed the driver, then updated and then rebooted. And it worked.
And this time I checked lspci and the driver was already listed. So the driver I mentioned earlier in this post is not needed. Lesson for next time.
First update your system before trying anything with drivers.
"Your heart is free, have the courage to follow it"


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users