Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Windows disks under SUSE 10.1

Hi all.

I'm fairly new to this, so would appreciate any advice or help that anyone has to offer.

Right, my setup is as follows...

I'm running a dual-boot setup, with windows on a SATA raid array (Nvidia motherboard controller), and SUSE 10.1 on a SCSI disc (Adaptec PCI card controller), plus an IDE disk in NTFS that windows uses as an extra storage/scratch disk. On the other channel of the MOBO's IDE controller are a DVD drive and a CD rewriter.

And my problem are these...

part 1.

I can't access either windows disk, from root, or as a standard user. I can see them in both, but I'm always told that I don't have permission.

part 2.

When I use GNOME, the cd drives automount. When I use KDE not only does neither drive automount, I can't even do it manually! CD in drive, check. Lights on front of drive, and wires in the back, check. Hippy types the magic words into the superuser console, superuser console gives Hippy the finger, laughing as it does so.

part 3.

Not really as major as the 1st two, but when I try to start Firefox as a normal user, the eggtimer icon and the loading bar appear in the bottom panel, as if all were normal and firefox were about to start. It is, as it turns out, a lie. When the eggtimer dissappears, so does the bar from the bottom panel. Nothing further happens. Runs fine as root, just not as a normal user.

I've had a look in previous posts on here and searched for the answers out in the ether, but have just confused myself.

Thanks for any help that's forthcoming.

hi and welcome to the forums

as to your problems, see below