Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
using LCD and linux = bAD! :/
iam trying to install redhat linux 9.0 and i have a samsung SyncMaster 172S lcd, and i first tried to install the graphic version but that didnt work so i tried the text version that worked fine, but when i boot up the sytem just freezed anyone now what to do ? :P

you may need to altre your xfree86 settings by manual, try to use lower resolltion like 800x600 and boot to graphical.

I'm useing 18" LCD, 1280x1024. works fine on here. i also select the "Generic LCD1280x1024" type of monior when i was in the installation setup. it works fine to me. I think you shoul try to use 800x600 once it work. try 1024 x 768..

configure the graphic in console is: XFree86

something like XFree86 xfree86.conf or so. not sure. try on search, i'm sure it will tells you how to do it.

hope this help ya.

redhat-config-xfree86 will allow you to pick the correct video card and monitor type

go for a generic LCD panel as vemon already suggested and make sure it is @ the resolution that your LCD is designed for

cheers

anyweb

but i when i choose graphic installation, my computer just freezez and the mouse stops and i cant do anything. so i cant choose what kind of monitor i will use.

don't you think that means you need to use text install and setup X after?

I do

Quote:redhat-config-xfree86 will allow you to pick the correct video card and monitor type 

go for a generic LCD panel as vemon already suggested and make sure it is @ the resolution that your LCD is designed for

cheers

anyweb

I just got a new LCD monitor and I'm having some issues with it. It's working but not quite right. I tried redhat-config-xfree86 but I don't seem to have that on my fc5 system. Is there something similar that I could use?

in fedora core 5 try

Code:
system-config-display

it's been that way since Fedora core release 2