Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello from Nycatle

Hi to you all, I'm new to this so be gentle with me! I'm not that PC literate so I hope to learn as I go and you may see my asks a bit daft at times doh. I explained this to anyweb (top man) being a Mechanic I can only see the PC as a whole "like an engine" so like I said my questions may sound odd.

Then what's it all about? how do these engines work can you make one big script to do it all and if so how? This OS is Ubuntu Ibex and I must say it is mint for a noob, easy to install and it kicks Windows butt B)

Any pointers would be gratefully accepted and constructive criticism welcome.

Hey enough from me but its good to be here and lots to read the site and your info has helped so much already. Sadly you cant help my spelling and typos!

Welcome robbin!

I hope you enjoy your Linux experience and spending time here at Linux-noob. :)

Hi there Robbin.

You're kinda right about the "see the PC as a whole" thing. I tend to visualise it as a car where the engine can be swapped for windows/linux/etc but the end objectives of the vehicle are still the same.

In the Linux world, the engine will be designed slightly differently, so the dashboard and controls may look unfamiliar at first - some dials may be roof-mounted or beamed directly onto the windscreen in a heads-up display, rather than being in the usual place in front of the driver - but they all pretty much serve the same purpose.