Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello!

Hey guys,

my name is Adam and I am new to linux, and when I say new..I mean NEW!!! I've tinkered around with it a little bit, read some online help posts to get some things working... but it was mainly copy paste stuff.... does anyone recommend somewhere I can go to learn what all the commands do??

for instance I have used sudo command before, but don't really know what it means and I wouldn't know how to use it if I needed to unless I was reading it online.

as far as experience, I am in IT support, supporting mac and windows computers both hardware and software, but I want to learn how to use linux and possibly use linux as a server for files, web, and email. right now, I have Ubuntu, is there one that is recommended? I Read that I should start out with fedora though, will it be that much different?

I have been through this site many times before now, I don't know why i just didn't sign up way before this... well anyways, thanks in advance guys/gals!

-Adam

Hi Adam. Welcome to Linux and welcome to this site! :)

Quote:does anyone recommend somewhere I can go to learn what all the commands do??

Well, there are a lot of different commands! Where do we start? [img]<___base_url___>//public/style_emoticons/default/wink.png[/img]

My experience is that if you want to become proficient with Linux, including using the command line, the best way is to play around with things. Set yourself a specific project around doing something with Linux that you find interesting. A topic-based approach like this means you can learn transferrable command line skills as you go along, but also have the satisfaction of having an outcome at the end of a little project. With each project, you'll learn a lot about that specific thing, but also pick up a few more general concepts and skills as you go along.